Skip to main content
Banner Image

Spanish & Portuguese Language Resources

A guide to Spanish and Portuguese Language resources at Montclair State University's Sprague Library and on the Web.

Find Videos

Teaching/Learning Spanish as a Second Language: Resources

  • Spanish (BBC)
    A comprehensive and lively collection of free audio and video courses for both beginners and intermediate learners.
  • ¡Cine con clase!
    Offers scenes of Spanish movies as pedagogical resources to learn the Spanish language. Scenes can be viewed along with the script. Search available by topic, grammatical structures, and vocabulary. Free registration as a user is required to view this website.
  • LingusTV
    TV channel devoted to learning Spanish language. Videos are filmed in a situation comedy (sitcom) style. Browsable by language skill level (beginner, intermediate, advanced), tags (skills and topics), and by latest & popular videos. Also searchable by keyword. Each video comes with its script, translation into English, and grammar notes.
  • Spanish Proficiency Exercises 
    "Compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks...The gray menu bar at the top of each page contains proficiency topics, divided by level of dificulty: Beginning, Intermediate, Advanced, Superior. Click on any of these levels to see a list of topics. Then click on any of the specific topics to see the video clips, vocabulary lists, phrases lists, and mini-grammar explanations."

Sprague Media Collections

Mobile Apps

A listing of phrasebooks, dictionaries, vocabulary drills and other apps for iOS  and Android devices. From Appolicius.iphone


Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes -- This is the most comprehensive Hispanic digital library. Its goal is to preserve and make accessible the hispanic cultural heritage available in various formats (mainly texts, images and videos):

  • Videoteca
    Valuable video collection mainly focused on literary topics such as interviews, poetic readings, and theatrical representations.
  • Biblioteca de Signos
    This "library of signs" contains a collection of videos designed especially for the hearing-impaired.
Open Access Digital Video Collections
  • Moving Images Collection 
    Integrated online union catalog of moving images. Under "Advanced search", you can limit by "digital video only". A search for the keyword "Spanish", will retrieve +70 videos dated in the late 1800's and early 1900's, and dealing primarily with historical events.
  • Open Video Project
    "The Open Video repository provides video clips from a variety of sources, especially various video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies." Includes a few historical videos related to Latin America. Allows to search by Spanish language and by using keywords such as "Latin America", "South America" and specific Latin America
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!