Archaeology (Israel)
- Friends of the Israel Antiquities Authority
The organization was established in 1992 to raise awareness and provide financial support to the Israel Antiquities Authority for a diverse range of archaeological and educational projects throughout Israel requiring both public and private funding. Funds are provided for excavations and field-work, development of archaeological parks and gardens, publications, object conservation and restoration and conservation of antiquity sites.
Ashkenazi (Central/Eastern Europe) & Sephardic (Spain/Middle East) Jews
- American Sephardi Federation
Promotes and preserves the spiritual, historical, cultural and social traditions of all Sephardic communities from the Iberian Peninsula and the Balkans, to the Jews of North Africa and Muslim lands including Iraq, Iran, Syria, Turkey, Yemen, Ethiopia and Bukharian Jews.
- Centropa
Oral history project that interviewed over 1,250 Jews from communities in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, as well as Turkey, Greece, and the Balkans.
- Leo Baeck Institute
New York City-based research library devoted to the study of the history and culture of German-speaking Jewry. LBI documents and engages this legacy through its library and archival collections, exhibitions, events and lectures.
- YIVO Institute for Jewish Research
The YIVO Institute for Jewish Research is dedicated to the history and culture of Ashkenazi Jewry and to its influence in the Americas. YIVO is the world's preeminent resource center for East European Jewish Studies; Yiddish language, literature and folklore; and the American Jewish immigrant experience. The YIVO Library holds over 385,000 volumes in 12 major languages, and the Archives contains more than 24,000,000 items.
Associations
- Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry in the U.S. and abroad through information, education, legislation, and advocacy. ADL serves as a resource for government.
- Association for Jewish Studies (AJS)
A learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching and research in Jewish Studies at colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning.
- Association of Jewish Libraries
Promotes Jewish literacy through enhancement of libraries and library resources and through leadership for the profession and practitioners of Judaica librarianship. The Association fosters access to information, learning, teaching and research relating to Jews, Judaism, the Jewish experience and Israel.
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
- Judaism 101
An online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs.
Holocaust and Anti-Semitism
- Anti-Defamation League (ADL)
The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry in the U.S. and abroad through information, education, legislation, and advocacy. ADL serves as a resource for government.
- Yivo Institute for Jewish Research
The YIVO Institute for Jewish Research is dedicated to the history and culture of Ashkenazi Jewry and to its influence in the Americas. YIVO is the world's preeminent resource center for East European Jewish Studies; Yiddish language, literature and folklore; and the American Jewish immigrant experience. The YIVO Library holds over 385,000 volumes in 12 major languages, and the Archives contains more than 24,000,000 items.
Israel
- Israel National Library (Digital Collections)
Hundreds of thousands of items from the library's core areas - Israel, Judaism and Islam - have been scanned and are available on the website. There are also tens of thousands of hours of recorded music that Internet users can access, including rare Hebrew songs and cantorial music.
Jewish Art
- Israel Museum
The Israel Museum's collection includes nearly 500,000 objects of fine art, archaeology, Judaica and Jewish ethnography, representing the history of world culture from nearly one million years ago to the present day.
- The Jewish Museum (NY,NY)
The Jewish Museum is the preeminent museum in the United States devoted exclusively to Jewish art and culture. It's collections comprise over 27,000 items, ranging from archaeological artifacts to works by today’s cutting-edge artists.
- Musee d'art et d'histoire du Judaisme (Paris, France)
Since its inception in 1988, the Musée d'art et d'histoire du Judaïsme has endeavoured to add to the original collections, focusing on France, the history of the Jews, religious art, ethnography and works by Jewish artists.
Jewish Diaspora
Jewish History
- American Jewish Archives (Hebrew Union College)
Preserves the documentary heritage of the religious, organizational, economic, cultural, personal, social and family life of American Jewry. Archive houses over ten million pages of documentation.
- Center for Jewish History (Digital Collections)
The Center for Jewish History based in New York is the home of five preeminent Jewish institutions dedicated to history, culture and art. The institutions include the American Jewish Historical Society, the American Sephardi Federation, the Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
- Dorot Jewish Division (New York Public Library)
One of the world’s great collections of Hebraica and Judaica. Archival materials are especially rich in the following areas: Jews in the United States, especially in New York in the age of immigration; Yiddish theater; Jews in the land of Israel, through 1948; Jews in early modern Europe, especially Jewish-Gentile relations; Christian Hebraism; antisemitism; and world Jewish newspapers and periodicals of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
- Israel National Library (Digital Collections)
Hundreds of thousands of items from the library's core areas - Israel, Judaism and Islam - have been scanned and are available on the website. There are also tens of thousands of hours of recorded music that Internet users can access, including rare Hebrew songs and cantorial music.
Jewish Languages & Literature
Jewish Libraries
- Association of Jewish Libraries
Promotes Jewish literacy through enhancement of libraries and library resources and through leadership for the profession and practitioners of Judaica librarianship. The Association fosters access to information, learning, teaching and research relating to Jews, Judaism, the Jewish experience and Israel.
- Israel National Library (Digital Collections)
Hundreds of thousands of items from the library's core areas - Israel, Judaism and Islam - have been scanned and are available on the website. There are also tens of thousands of hours of recorded music that Internet users can access, including rare Hebrew songs and cantorial music.
- Israel Union List of Serials
The Israel Union List of Serials (ULS-Israel) project lists over 100,000 different serial titles held by over 170 Israeli academic, special and public libraries and collections. The serials cover all fields and languages.
- Rachel
The on-line catalog of the European Network of Judaica and Hebraica Libraries is one of the foremost bibliographic sources in the field of Jewish culture. It contains over 200,000 entries, representing the holdings of the member libraries.
Jewish Music (see Multimedia page for sound recordings)
- Jewish Music WebCenter
Provides an online forum for academic, organizational, and individual activities in Jewish music. Information is provided to encourage and support scholarship, enjoyment, creation and general knowledge of Jewish music. The website includes reviews and a list of internet resources.
- Musica Judaica Online Reviews
An open-access online journal that publishes reviews of books, films, significant events, and recordings chronicling all forms of Jewish musical expression.
- YIVO Institute for Jewish Research (Sidney Krum Jewish Music and Yiddish Theater Memorial Collections)
The collections include over 15,000 78-rpm and LP recordings, piano rolls, CDs, and tapes of cantorial, folk, theater, and popular music in Yiddish and Hebrew, some unpublished. There are also humor recordings and recordings of recitations. The collections of printed sheet music and scores as well as unpublished manuscripts of scores and songs comprise at least 10,000 individual pieces of badkhn (wedding entertainer) repertory, folk songs, operettas, oratorios, popular songs, art songs, liturgical music, and instrumental music, much of it klezmer.
Jewish Studies Portals
- Jewish Virtual Library
A comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia which covers everything from anti-Semitism to Zionism. So far, more than 13,000 articles and 6,000 photographs and maps have been integrated into the site.
- My JewishLearning
Included are articles on Jewish art, film, food, humor, languages, literature, music are found on the site. My Jewish Learning also links to other directories on specific topics.
Jewish Theatre and Performing Arts
- All About Jewish Theatre
The only global network dedicated to Jewish theatre and performing arts. Reaching 150,000 weekly visitors from more than 100 countries, this unique online resource presents a worldwide audience with the vital history and daily streaming of information on Jewish theatre and performing arts (including Jewish cinema).
- Yiddish Theatre (Dorot Jewish Division/NYPL)
Contains the materials assembled by many of the founders of the art form, from Boris Thomashefsky to Bertha Kalich and Morris Morrison, as well as the bibliographer Edward Coleman. It is the principal repository for the unpublished manuscripts of these early Yiddish plays, for whose contents there is generally no other surviving evidence.
- YIVO Institute for Jewish Research (Sidney Krum Jewish Music and Yiddish Theater Memorial Collections)
The collections include over 15,000 78-rpm and LP recordings, piano rolls, CDs, and tapes of cantorial, folk, theater, and popular music in Yiddish and Hebrew, some unpublished. There are also humor recordings and recordings of recitations. Theater collections include plays—in manuscript or in print with hand annotations—skits, programs, reviews, photographs, posters, and costumes. This material, along with the recordings, was produced in Europe, the Americas, and Israel; its chronological span is from the 1890s through the present. Some of it was even created under the shadow of Nazi rule.
Jewish Women
- Jewish Women's Archive
Devoted to making known the stories, struggles, and achievements of Jewish women in North America in order to enrich the way we understand the past and to ensure a more inclusive future. JWA has amassed the most extensive collection of material anywhere on American Jewish women.
Judaism
- Chief Rabbi of Great Britain (Chief Rabbi Lord Sacks)
Official website of the Chief Rabbi of Great Britain, Jonathan Sacks. The website includes commentary on the weekly Torah portion, speeches, lectures, and articles written by the Chief Rabbi which appeared in Jewish newspapers in England.
- Judaism 101
An online encyclopedia of Judaism, covering Jewish beliefs, people, places, things, language, scripture, holidays, practices and customs.
- Judaism Basics (About.com)
This introduction to Judaism includes basic information about the Jewish religion and a free "Ask the Rabbi" service. What are the different denominations of Judaism? What are the Torah and Talmud? How are Jewish holidays and lifecycle events celebrated? Learn about Judaism's beliefs, practices and prayers.
- Judaism Primer (Infoplease)
Website endeavors to provide you with everything you need to know about Judaism, including information about the religion, Jewish history, scholars, and holidays.
Zionism
![Montclair State University banner image](http://www.montclair.edu/library/wp-content/uploads/sites/213/2023/09/university_libraries_horizontal.png")