Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

Student Government Association

Inventory to the Records of the Montclair State University Student Government Association

 


Overview of the Collection

Repository:

Montclair State University Harry A. Sprague Library Archives

Creator:

Student Government Association, Montclair State University

Finding Aid Created by:

Paul Martinez

Title:

Student Government Association

Dates:

Circa 1963 - 2007

Quantity:

15 cubic feet

Abstract:

The collection from the Student Government Association includes Bill and Minute Books and Campus Life Union Board (C.L.U.B.) scrapbooks.

Identification:

SGANjUpM

Language:

The records are in English.


Biographical Note

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association (SGA) is a not-for-profit corporation serving the students of Montclair State University. The SGA oversees more than 100 on-campus organizations, including groups for public service, culture, arts, hobbies, sports and Greek life. The aim of the SGA is to enrich each student’s college experience by giving them opportunities to connect with others, explore new interests and lead their own clubs. The SGA is here to enhance student life at Montclair State University.

History

The SGA was formed in 1925 as the "Student Council" and became a non-profit organization in 1934 known as the Student Government Association. The SGA is independent from the University and is composed of three separate but equal bodies: The Executive Branch, The Legislative Branch and The Judicial Branch.


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This collection consists of Student Government Association (SGA) bill and minute books, scrapbooks, calendars, student handbooks, and other ephemera.

The College Life Union Board (C.L.U.B.) scrapbooks were re-housed and scanned into PDF format.


Name and Subject Tracings: Related material may be found under the following index terms used for people, organizations and subjects represented in these records.


Arrangement

This collection has been divided into three series:

Series I: Bill and Minute Books

Series II: Scrapbooks - College Life Union Board (C.LU.B.)

Series III: Ephemera


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.


Index Terms

This record series is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms:

College students - New Jersey

College student government - New Jersey

Montclair State College

Montclair State University

New Jersey State Normal School at Montclair

New Jersey State Teachers College (Montclair, N.J.)

State University and colleges - Admission

Student activities

Universities and colleges - History


Detailed Description of the Collection

Click on the link below for a detailed description of the SGA Collection.

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!