Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

Student Development and Campus Life

Student Development and Campus Life

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Index Terms

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series I: Dean of Students 1925-2000

Series II: Division Administration 1920-1974

Series III: Enrollment Management 1927-1989

Series IV: Intercollegiate Athletics, 1968-1990

Series V: Student Academic Services, 1945-2000

Series VI: University Police, 1999-2000

Inventory to the Records of the Montclair State University Division of Student Development and Campus Life



Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State UniversityHarry A. Sprague Library Archives
Creator: Student Development and Campus Life, Montclair State University
Finding Aid Created by: Anne Lonergan
Title: Student Development and Campus Life
Dates: 1920 - 2000
Quantity: 1.2 cubic feet
Abstract: The collection from the Division of Student Development and Campus Life includes handbooks, directories, policy guides, brochures, newsletters, and student publications.
Identification: SDCLNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

The Division of Student Development and Campus Life implements programs that enhance the educational mission of the University and enrich the experience of student life outside the classroom. The Division works with students, faculty and staff to create a safe environment that fosters student growth and success. Among the many offices included under the umbrella of the Division of Student Development and Campus Life are Academic Success and Retention, Equity and Diversity, Residence Life, Student Involvement, Undergraduate Enrollment, and University Police.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This small collection consists of a wide variety of publications that pertain primarily to student life outside the classroom. Included in this collection is documentation of student clubs, organizations, and activities, student newsletters and other publications, student handbooks and directories, and undergraduate admission brochures. Among the items included in this collection are a Montclair State Normal School Student Handbook from 1925-1926, Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society meeting minutes and reports from 1931-1947, campus activity calendars from the 1960s, and a policy statement regarding campus protests, issued after protests erupted on the Montclair campus in 1970. The collection also includes student publications, to include Freshman and Sophomore Class newsletters from the early 1940s, Dayshift alternative newspapers from the early 1970s, Harambee newsletters, published by the Black Student Organization in the early 1970s, and Quarterly booklets, featuring literary works of students from the 1980s. Although the collection spans several decades, there are many years for which there is no documentation.

Return to the Table of Contents


Name and Subject Tracings: Related material may be found under the following index terms used for people, organizations and subjects represented in these records.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

This collection has been divided into six series:
Series I: Dean of Students
Series II: Division Administration
Series III: Enrollment Management
Series IV: Intercollegiate Athletics
Series V: Student Academic Services
Series VI: University Police

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Index Terms

This record series is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms:

African American college students - New Jersey
Campus police - New Jersey
College applications - New Jersey
College student orientation - handbooks, manuals, etc.
College students - New Jersey
Commuting college students - New Jersey
Greek letter societies
Kappa Delta Pi (Honor Society)
Montclair State College
Montclair State University
New Jersey State Normal School at Montclair
New Jersey State Teachers College (Montclair, N.J.)
State University and colleges - Admission
Student activities
Student housing - New Jersey
Student protesters
Student publications
Teacher college students - New Jersey
Universities and colleges - History

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

Series I: Dean of Students 1925-2000
1 1 Counseling and Psychological Services, circa 1973-1976
2 Disability Resource Center, 1996
3 Equity and Diversity, 1970-1983
4 Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, circa 2000
5 Recreation Center – Intermural Club Sports, 1938-1975
6 Student Center, 1977
7 Student Conduct, 1970
8 Student Directory, 1964-1980
9 Student Handbook, 1925, 1984-1990
10 Student Involvement – Clubs and Organizations, 1970-1989
11 Student Involvement – Commuter, 1967-1975
12 Student Involvement – Events and Activities, 1962-1974
13 Student Involvement – Greek Life, 1931-1957, 1974
14 Student Involvement – Publications, 1940-1985
15 Student Life, 1967-1975
Series II: Division Administration 1920-1974
1 1a Residence Life, 1920, 1966-1974
Series III: Enrollment Management 1927-1989
1 1b Admissions, circa 1927, 1944-1989
Series IV: Intercollegiate Athletics, 1968-1990
1 1c Athletic Newsletters, 1968-1973, 1989-1990
Series V: Student Academic Services, 1945-2000
1 1d Center for Advising and Student Transitions, 1945, 1988-2000
2d Educational Opportunity Fund, 1972
3d Success and Retention, circa 1973
Series VI: University Police, 1999-2000
1 1e Policy, 2000
2e Security Report, 1999
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!