Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

College High School

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Related Material

Detailed Description of the Collection

College High School Library, 1932 - 1935

Memorabilia, (1954 - 1966)

Evaluation Report, 1955

 

Inventory to the Records of the College High School


   

Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State University
Creator: College High School
Finding Aid Created by: Anne Lonergan
Dates: 1928 - 1966
Quantity: 1.2 cubic feet
Identification: CHSNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

College High School was a demonstration school established on the grounds of the New Jersey State Teachers College at Montclair in 1929. The school was comprised of grades seven through twelve, with thirty students enrolled in each grade. Students were selected for admission to College High School by the Teacher’s College Department of Professional Integration, based on competitive examinations, capability to perform college preparatory work, recommendations and personal interviews. Classes at College High School were taught by professors from the Teachers College and observed by students from the college.

In 1968, as Montclair State College continued to expand its curriculum beyond Education, the college administration questioned the value of maintaining College High School. In 1969, the Board of Trustees voted to begin closure of the school, and in 1973, the last class graduated from College High School. The College High School building eventually became Morehead Hall, named after Montclair State’s former vice-president and provost marshal.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This small collection (1928-1966) consists of reports and other documents regarding the College High School Library (primarily 1932-1962), memorabilia and an evaluation report of the College High School. The collection includes annual library reports authored by College High School Librarians Dorothy E. Mullowney and Mollie C. Winchester.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

This collection has been divided into three series:
Series I: Library Records
Series II: Memorabilia
Series III: Evaluation Report

 

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

Name and Subject Tracings: Related material may be found under the following index terms used for people, organizations and subjects represented in these records.

Organizations:
Montclair State University
New Jersey State Teachers College (Montclair, N.J.)
Subjects:
Demonstration Centers in Education
High School Libraries

         La Campanilla - College High School Yearbook:

             Online

             Print

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

                       
Library Records, 1932 - 1935
1 1 Library Reports, 1932 – 1936
  2 Library Reports, 1937-1962
  3 Library Design Notes, 1928
  4 Library Orientation Test, 1955
                       
Memorabilia, 1954 - 1966
1 1a Ninth Grade Students Work,
  2a School Newspaper, 1954
  * Scrapbook, 1965-1966
                       
Evaluation Report, 1955
1 * Evaluation of College High School Based on Appraisals of Graduates, 1955
   
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!