Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

Panzer College

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Related Material

Administrative Information

Detailed Description of the Collection

Box I: The College – Presidents, Trustees, Patrons, Alumni, Registrar, Merger

Box II: Historical, Master’s Thesis, Doctoral Thesis

Box III: College Catalogues

Box IV: Publications,

Box V: Programs

Box VI: Curriculum, 1962 and 1970's (various)

 

Inventory to the Records of the Panzer College Archives

 

 
   

Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State UniversityHarry A. Sprague LibraryArchives - Room 029Montclair, NJ 07043
Creator: Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene
Title: Panzer College Archives
Dates: Circa 1917 – 1958
Quantity: 6 Document Storage Cases (12 1/4 inch W x 10 1/4 inch H x 5 inch D)
Abstract: The following is a collection of papers, publications, and photographs of the Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene. Panzer College was founded and 1911 and merged with Montclair State College in 1958.
Identification: Pan NjUpM us
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

In 1917 the Newark Normal School of Physical Education and Hygiene was founded by Matthias Machery and Randall D. Warden, Directors of Physical Education for the city of Newark. At the close of the school year in 1920, the founders relinquished their interest in the school in favor of Henry Panzer, the Director of the Normal School at that time. The School moved to East Orange in 1925 where the program changed from being a two year course to a three year course. In 1928, a four year course of study leading to the degree of Bachelor of Physical Education was offered. At this time the name of the institution changed to Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene. Following Mr. Panzer's sudden death in 1932, Margaret C. Brown, who had served as teacher, registrar and dean of the College since 1921, was elected by the College Board of Trustees as President and Treasurer. Under her leadership the College made great professional advancements, and its reputation for excellence became nationally and internationally known. Through her efforts, the State authorized the granting of the degree of Bachelor of Science in Education in 1939. The Bachelor of Physical Education degree was abandoned. Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene merged with Montclair State College in 1958. The merger was engineered by Dr. E. deAlton Partridge, President of Montclair State College, Dr. Margaret C. Brown, President of Panzer College, and the Panzer College of Trustees, with the approval of the State Board of Education. Source: History of the Montclair State University Exercise Science and Physical Education Department http://cehs.montclair.edu/academic/es/about.shtml#history

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

Record group contains files on the presidents, trustees, patrons, alumni, registrar and merger. Also included are a Master’s thesis, a Doctoral thesis, a history of the college, a study of alumni associations of State Teachers Colleges, college catalogs, student newsletters, alumni bulletins, communiqués, public presentations, commencement programs, demonstration programs, college songs, hall of fame lists, student handbooks, and memorabilia.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

The archive is arranged into six series in six document storage boxes. Box I: The College – Presidents, Trustees, Patrons, Alumni, Registrar, Merger Box II: Historical – Master’s Thesis, Doctoral Thesis Box III: College Catalogues Box IV: Publications – Student Newspapers, Alumni Bulletin, Communiqué, Public Presentations Box V: Programs – Commencement, Demonstrations, College Songs, Hall of Fame Box VI: Curriculum – Master’s Thesis, Memorabilia The arrangement scheme for the archive was imposed prior to the use of archival standards.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

“The Olympia” the student yearbook of Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene is shelved in Room 029, the Archives Room of the Harry A. Sprague Library.

Return to the Table of Contents


Physical Charateristics or Technical Requirements

Box I – The box contains clippings files with delicate materials Box III – The loose course catalogs are in delicate condition Box IV – Loose editions of “The Springboard” are in delicate condition Box V – The box contains clippings files with delicate materials

Return to the Table of Contents


Administrative Information

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

                       
Box I: The College – Presidents, Trustees, Patrons, Alumni, Registrar, Merger
  2 History of Panzer
        1 sheet protector contains a history of Panzer College written on the 75th anniversary of the college in 1991
  3 Archives of Panzer College at Montclair State College 1918-1958,
        1 folder contains an index of the items in the Panzer College Archives and a sheet protector containing an invitation to the Presentation of the Panzer College Archives to Montclair State College in 1981 and a program from the event.
  4 Randall D. Warden,
        1 sheet protector contains letters, articles, photographs, and a citation for Randall D. Warden, a founder of the Newark Normal School of Physical Education and Hygiene which later became Panzer College.
  5 Henry Panzer,
        1 sheet protector contains a biography of Henry Panzer, photographs, a memorial article, and a gymnastics certificate from Bern, Switzerland (in French).
  6 Henry Panzer Death Notices,
        1 sheet protector contains a collection of death notices of Henry Panzer
  7 Sympathy Letters for Henry Panzer,
        1 sheet protector contains letters of sympathy on the death of Henry Panzer addressed to Roy E. Moore, chairman of the Gymnastic Society of the Amateur Athletic Union.
  8 Biography -- Margaret C. Brown ,
        1 sheet protector contains a professional biography of Margaret C. Brown, President of Panzer College from 1932-58.
  9 Dr. Margaret C. Brown Part I,
        1 sheet protector contains photographs and prints of portraits of Margaret C. Brown.
  10 Dr. Margaret C. Brown Part II,
        1 sheet protector contains photographs and clippings of Margaret C. Brown.
  11 Margaret C. Brown President 1932-1958,
        1 folder contains a 1975 Commencement Program with a notation for Margaret C. Brown's honorary doctorate, a program for a testimonial dinner, newspaper clippings.
  12 Margaret C. Brown President II,
        1 folder contains various honors and awards for Dr. Brown from 1948 to 1976.
  13 Dedication of the Margaret C. Brown Room,
        1 sheet protector contains an invitation to and a program from the dedication of the Margaret C. Brown Room in 1968.
  14 Dr. Margaret C. Brown Death,
        1 sheet protector contains death notices for Margaret C. Brown.
  15 The Board of Trustees,
        1 folder contains the Board of Trustees roster for 1957-58, awards and honors for Scott Harris, former chairman of the board, additional trustee citations
  16 Stapled Enclosures (green),
        2 stapled enclosures contain newspaper clippings on Panzer College from the Newark Sunday News, 1955 and 1956
  17 Patron's Association,
        1 folder contains a 1958 roster and constitution of the Patrons Association, a group of patents and friends of Panzer College
  18 Panzer College Alumni
        1 folder contains alumni newsletters, a 1943-45 roster of Alumni Council Members, a program from a Senior Reception from Dec 5, 1960, and a copy of the Constitution of the Panzer Alumni (revised 1993)
  19 Registrar,
        1 folder contains registrar reports of enrollment 1918-58, documents and news-clippings on Dr. Hazel Wacker, Registrar 1944-58
  20 Merger with Montclair State College, Aug 1, 1958,
        1 folder contains a copy of the 1962 trust agreement by and between Panzer College, The State of New Jersey, The Trenton Trust Company and Dr. Margaret C. Brown, and various newspaper clippings on the merger of Panzer College and Montclair State.
  21 Panzer College Articles of Interest,
        1 sheet protector contains various newspaper clippings about Panzer College
  22 Untitled Sheet Protector,
        Contains an undated brochure for Panzer's Gymnasium in New York and an entry blank for the 1936 Women's Gymnastic Championships of America and Official Championships of Amateur Athletic Union of the United States
  23 Panzer College Photos
        3 sheet protectors contain mostly undated photographs of Panzer College
                       
Box II: Historical, Master’s Thesis, Doctoral Thesis
2 1 The history of the private single-purpose institutions which prepared teachers of physical education in the United States of America from 1861-1958: A study of the founding, progress, current status and contributions to physical education of twelve single-purpose schools (Thesis) January 1959
        "Submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Education in the School of Education of New York University" Author: Dr. Hazel Wacker, Panzer College Registrar 1944-58
  2 The history of Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene, 1917-1958 East Orange New, New Jersey (Thesis) June 1959
        Author: Hazel M. Wacker, Ed. D., former Registrar and Professor of Physical Education, Panzer College of Physical Education. Associate Professor of Physical Education, Panzer School of Physical Education and Hygiene Montclair State College
  3 A study of alumni associations of state teachers colleges in the United States, 1944?
        Author: Margaret C. Brown, President Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene East Orange, New Jersey
  4 The contributions of Margaret Christina Brown to teacher education and physical education: A thesis in physical education (Thesis) June 1963
        Author: Anthony E. Napier "The Pennsylvania State University, The Graduate School, Department of Physical Education Submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirement for the degree of Master of Science"
                       
Box III: College Catalogues
3 1 Newark Normal School for Physical Education and Hygiene 1917-1929
       
 
1917-1918 (2)
1918-1919 (2)
1919-1920
1922-1923
1924-1925
1928-1929
  2 Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene 1933-1958
       
 
1933-1934
1935-1936 (2)
1937-1938
1938-1939
1939-1940
1941-1942
1942-1943
1943-1944
1944-1945
1945-1946
1946-1947
1947-1948
1948-1949
1949-1950
1950-1951
1951-1952
1952-1953
1953-1954
1954-1956
1956-1958
  3 Bound Volume of Panzer College Catalogs, 1940-1950
  4 Student Handbooks 1938-1957
       
 
1938-1939
1939-1940
1940-1941
1941-1942
1942-1943
1947-
1956-1957
  5 Freshman Handbooks 1930-1934
       
 
1930 -1931 - vol. I
1931-1932 - vol. II
1933 - 1934 - vol. III
                       
Box IV: Publications,
4 1 The Springboard - Panzer College Student Publication 1929-1939
       
 
1 folder with student newspapers beginning with the Newark Normal School editions of The Springboard
1 sheet protector with Springboard issues from 1943-1945
1 sheet protector with Springboard issues from 1945-1947
1 sheet protector with Springboard issues from 1947-1948
1 sheet protector with Springboard issues from 1950-1958
  2 Panzer College Alumni Bulletin 1943 – 1960 (Missing Issues)
  3 Panzer Alumni Communiqué 1972 - 1998 (Missing Issues)
  4 Public Presentations ,
        1 folder with various invitations to public events, marketing publications, and a copy of the December 1932 Newsletter of the New Jersey Physical Education Association
  5 A teacher's manual of physical education : General gymnastics for boys, by Henry Panzer
                       
Box V: Programs
5 1 Panzer College Commencement
        1 sheet protector with 3 Newark Normal School Commencement brochures (1918, 1924, 1929), 1 Panzer College Commencement brochure (1958), 1 Panzer College 75th Anniversary brochure, 1 informational brochure (1958), 1 postcard, 1 newspaper clipping, 1 memoranda on the appraisal of Panzer College from Robert H. Morrison, State Supervisor of Colleges to Dr. Charles H. Elliott, State Commissioner of Education (1937)
  2 Panzer College Commencement 1919-1958
        1 sheet protector with Commencement brochures (missing dates)
  3 Various,
        1 sheet protector with 2 brochures announcing the addition of a four year college course to the curriculum, promotional leaflets for the Newark Normal School, commencement brochures for the Newark Normal School and Panzer Normal School
  4 Panzer College Spring Demonstration Brochures, 1955 and 1957
        1 sheet protector with 1 program from the Panzer College Spring Demonstration 1955 and 1 program from the Panzer College Spring Demonstration 1957
  5 Montclair Panzer School Programs Demonstration 1959-1968
        1 sheet protector with 9 Montclair State College Panzer School Spring Demonstration programs
  6 Original Pageant Programs 1930-1942
        1 sheet protector with 1 Class Day Exercises program for the Newark Normal School of P.E. (undated), 3 Commencement Demonstration programs from Panzer College (1936, 1938, 1939), 1 program and poster for "The Road to Freedom" pageant and demonstration for Panzer College (1940), 1 program and poster for "The Story of Democracy" pageant and demonstration for Panzer College (1940), 1 program, 1 invitation, and 1 ticket for the Panzer College 25th Anniversary Demonstration (1942), 1 selection of paperwork from the Panzer College Folk Dance Club (bulk dates 1953-1958)
  7 Panzer College Christmas Pageants 1953-?
        1 sheet protector with 3 Panzer College Christmas Festival programs (1953-1955), 1 script from the Panzer College Christmas Program (1957), 3 pages of drawings titled "Sculptures for Pageant" (undated), 1 document titled "The Story of Democracy," 2 programs for the Patrons Association, Panzer College Christmas Festival (1944, 1945)
  8 Panzer College Alumni Programs 1956-2000
        1 sheet protector 38 with Panzer College Alumni Homecoming Day programs (bulk dates 1956-2000), 1 letter from President Ronald Reagan to the Panzer Class of 1932 (1987)
  9 Panzer Alumni Honor Awards Programs ,
        1 sheet protector with 6 Panzer College Alumni Honor Awards programs (1958, 1972, 1984, April 1991, May 1991, 2000)
  10 Panzer College Songs,
        1 folder with various song lyrics and sheet music
  11 Panzer College Hall of Fame ,
        1 sheet protector with various documents on the Panzer College Hall of Fame
                       
Box VI: Curriculum, 1962 and 1970's (various)
6 1 A historical study of the curriculum of Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene, May 11, 1962
        Ira Rosen "Master of Arts, 1962"
  2 Some Memories of Panzer College of Physical Education and Hygiene 1970's?
        Photo album with mostly black and white photographs
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!