Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

College of the Arts

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Related Material

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1, Box 1, 1926 - 2012

 

Inventory to the records of the Montclair State University College of the Arts

 

 
   

Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State University
Creator: Montclair State University College of the Arts
Dates: Circa 1926 - 2012
Quantity: 1.2 cubic feet
Identification: CARTNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

The College of the Arts (CART) offers more than fifty majors, minors and concentrations in art and design, television and digital media, communication studies, dance, music and theatre. Twice designated as a Center of Excellence, the college provides professional training and education for students seeking careers as practitioners, educators, public servants and managers of the arts.

The College of the Arts is made up of the following departments:
* Department of Art and Design
* Department of Theatre and Dance
* School of Communication and Media
* John J. Cali School of Music

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This series of records contains a small collection of documents collected by the Library from the College of the Arts. The records are largely unrelated and cover a wide range of dates.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

The records are arranged in one series. The series is divided into four subseries.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

Various Art and Music programs are shelved in the Archives Room (029)

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

                       
Series 1, Box 1, 1926 - 2012
1   Subseries 1: Department of Art and Design,
  1   Industrial Arts,
  1     “Industrial Arts Guild News Montclair State College: Vol. 3, No. 2”, March, 1962
  1     “Industrial Arts Guild News Montclair State College: Vol. IV No. 2”, May 1963
  1     “Industrial Arts Guild News Montclair State College: Vol. 6 No. 1”, November, 1964
  1     “"College tilts to windmill for watt-not" by Beth Fitzgerald, The Star-Ledger” , Tuesday, June 6, 1978
  2   (Box) Montclair at the Underground, photographs by students and friends of Montclair State College exhibited at the Underground Gallery, 134 Fifth Ave. New York City, October 15 - November 21 (Undated, 1970?)
    Subseries 2: Department of Theatre and Dance,
  3   Programs 1926, 1927,
  3     “Spring Festival, Montclair State Normal School”, May 26th, 1926
  3     “The Rescue of Ulysses, A Greek Festival Play, Presented by the Dramatic Club”, May 25th, 1927
  4   Programs 1947, 1948,
  4     “The Players of Montclair State Teachers College present "Icebound" by Owen Davis, November thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth, Nineteen Hundred Forty-seven”, 1947
  4     “The Players of Montclair State Teachers College present The Male Animal by James Thurber and Elliott Nugent, April fifteenth, seventeenth, eighteenth, nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first, Nineteen Hundred Forty-eight”, 1948
  5   Programs 1950's,
  5     “Players present Arthur Miller's The Crucible Directed by L. Howard Fox”, (Undated)
  5     “Players Present Sophocles' Oedipus Rex, College Amphitheatre, Ralph Mazzocchi, Director”, June 5, 1950
  5     “Around the Town, Second Annual Women's Inter-Dormitory Show,”, March 31, April 1,2 1954
  5     “So Far-So Good, 4th Annual Women's Inter-Dormitory Show,”, March 7, 8, 9 1956
  5     “Montclair State Teachers College Opera Workshop assisted by The College Orchestra. Memorial Auditorium, Mikado, Emil Kahn, Musical and Stage Director,”, May 27-28, 1957
  6   Performing Arts School Brochure, Undated,
  7   (Bound Item )A chronological presentation of the Department of Speech and Theatre: a history and directory of the speech family: the School of Fine and Performing Arts. 1st printing May 1986
    Subseries 3: School of Communication and Media,
  8   Educational Television Moves Forward, A Report of a Full School Day of Ultra-High Frequency Classroom Television Programs in the Public Schools of Bloomfield and Montclair, N.J. on April 30, 1952 Prepared by Lawrence H. Conrad, Chairman, The Montclair State Teachers College Television in Education Project (2 copies and 1 photocopy), 1952
    Subseries 4: John J. Cali School of Music ,
  9   (Box) A Brief History of the Montclair State Teachers' College Choir, Circa 1929 - 1937
  10   United World Federalists present Vivian Fine, Pianist. Russ Hall, 26 February (No year)
  11   Montclair State College Music Department, Programs Presented in, 1961-62
  12   Montclair State College Music Department, Programs Presented in, 1965-1966
  13   Montclair State College Music Department, Programs 1966-1967 Season, 1966-1967
  14   Montclair State College Music Department, Programs 1969-1970 Season, 1969-1970
  15   Christmas Oratorio Programs,
  15     “The Christmas Oratorio by Johann Sebastian Bach”, December 15, 1966
  15     “Christmas Oratorio by Johann Sebastian Bach”, December 15, 1972
  16   John J. Cali School of Music College of the Arts Ribbon Cutting, January 20, 2010
  17   A Celebration of the Life of Murray L. Cole, March 21, 2010

 

 

Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!