Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

Office of the President

Office of the President

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Index Terms

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Box 1 1927-2001

Inventory to the Records of the Montclair State University Office of the President



Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State UniversityHarry A. Sprague LibraryArchives - Room 029Montclair, NJ 07043
Creator: Office of the President, Montclair State University
Title:
Dates: Circa 1927-2001
Quantity: One box of files, books, envelopes, audio tape, postcards CDs, photograph and a small box of papers. cubic feet
Abstract:
Identification: OffPresNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

The President of the Montclair State University serves as the University's executive officer and chief adviser to the Board of Trustees. The President is also an ex officio member of the Board without vote. The executive leadership responsibility and management of the University, including the authority to sign documents on behalf of the Board, is delegated to and vested in the President of the University pursuant to the policies of the Board, state regulation, and statute. The President has general responsibility for the leadership and management of the University in achieving its mission, objectives, and purpose-including instruction, research, and service-in accordance with the policies of the Board, the laws of the state, and the resources of the institution.

Presidents:
Charles S. Chapin 1908-1924 (Principal)
Harry A. Sprague 1924-1951 (Principal, later President)
E. DeAlton Partridge 1951-1964
Thomas H. Richardson 1964-1973 (Acting, 1964-1966)
David W.D. Dickson 1973-1984
Donald E. Walters 1984-1987
Richard A. Lynde 1987-1989 (Acting)
Irvin D. Reid 1989- 1998
Susan A. Cole 1998-

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This series of records contains a small collection of documents collected by the library from the Office of the President. The records are largely unrelated. The materials include MSU Reports of the President, Postcards, Report of the President’s Fall Symposium, Report of the President’s Task Force on outcomes assessment, Information Technology, Annual Report, Photograph of President Reid, Commencement, The New Jersey Master Plan for Higher Education-Phase-II, Campus policy concerning student rights and responsibilities, MSU Inauguration of Donald E. Walters- Academic symposium and the search for Purpose and Direction, The Inauguration of David W.D. Dickson, Memorandum, Master Plan Committee, Computing Consultant’s Report, History of MSC audio-tape, President Harry Sprague’s 25th Anniversary at Montclair State Teacher’s College CD.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

The records are arranged in one series. The series is divided into ten subseries. The first subseries covers the terms of several Presidents. The additional nine subseries are arranged chronologically by the term of each president. The series also contains an audio cassette tape. Series is arranged in 1 document archival storage box.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Index Terms

This record series is indexed under the following controlled access subject terms.

Organizations:

Montclair State University--Office of the President

Subjects:

Montclair State University--Office of the President

Return to the Table of Contents


Physical Charateristics or Technical Requirements

Box 1: contains files, folders, books, photographs, audio-tape, cds and papers in decent condition.

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Box 1 1927-2001
Subseries 1: Unsorted 1955–1974
1 Folder Number 1: Montclair State Today and Tomorrow: A report to the people of New Jersey about one of their colleges Bulk Dates 1955-1974
Subseries 2: Chapin 1908-1924
Subseries 3: Sprague 1924-1951
2 Folder Number 2: President Harry Sprague's 25th Anniversary at Montclair State Teacher's College -- 2 CD's 1952
Subseries 4: Partridge 1951-1964
3 Folder Number 3: Statement on Status of General Education Program (1962), Inter-office memos from President Partridge 1953-1964
4 Folder Number 4: "The Elements of Greatness" - An address given by Former President Partridge to the Century Club of the Alumni Association 1981
Subseries 5: Richardson 1964-1973
5 Folder Number 5: Administrative Group (under President Richardson) - Meeting Minutes and Inter-office memos Bulk Dates 1964-1966
6 Folder Number 6: Inter-office memorandums from President Richardson 1965-1968
Subseries 6: Dickson 1973-1984
7 Folder Number 7: Program for the Inauguration of David W.D. Dickson 1973
8 Folder Number 8: Report of the President - President Dickson 1973-1976
9 Folder Number 9: Faculty Senate Planning Committee - Meeting Minutes and Inter-office memos 1977
10 Folder Number 10: Black and White Postcards sent to President Dickson 1978
Subseries 7: Walters 1984-1987
11 Folder Number 11: Pamphlets from the Inauguration of President Walters, Report of the Proceedings of the Presidential Fall Symposium 1984, 1986
12 Folder Number 12: Middle States Team Reports 1987
Subseries 8: Lynde 1987-1989
13 Folder Number 13: Presidential Task Force on Outcomes Assessment - Report to the President, Report to the Community, "Outcomes" Newsletters 1987-1988
Subseries 9: Reid 1989-1998
14 Folder Number 14: Master Plan Process Report with 2 photographs of Master Plan Committee Members and Board of Trustees Members (1989), Flyer for a celebration to mark the completion of the Facilities Master Plan, Phase One (1993) 1989, 1993
15 Folder Number 15: Memorandum and Photograph of President Reid 1989
16 Folder Number 16: Computing Consultant's Report 1990
17 Folder Number 17: Convocation Invitation and Programs 1994
Subseries 10: Cole 1998-
18 Folder Number 18: Pamphlets from the Inauguration of President Walters, Report of the Proceedings of the Presidential Fall Symposium 1984, 1986
Audio Cassette: History of MSC - Dr. E.D. Partridge, President, 1937-1964
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!