Research Guides: Anthropology: Find Articles

Databases

For this subject area, we recommend the following electronic databases:

Annual Reviews
Index to review articles in a number of areas of science and some social sciences. Full text available from some Annual Review titles.
America History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations on United States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present.
Anthropological Index Online
Index to anthropological material contained in current periodicals of the Museum of Mankind Library at the British Museum.
Anthrosource
Developed by the American Anthropological Association, this database covers current issues of several AAA publications and provides access to archival content in JSTOR. Useful for students, professors and researchers in anthropology.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Index of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full text of titles published since 1997 is available for free download.
ERIC
Education Database
Index to articles (identified as "EJ") and documents (identified as "ED") on all aspects of education. Documents with an ED# are available on microfiche in the Multimedia Resources Department. Also searches the EDRS (full text) version of ERIC listed below.
HRAF - Human Relations Area Files
Full text database of ethnographic and cultural materials.
JSTOR
Archive of full-text journal articles in African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, Classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, geography, history, languages and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index to articles, books & dissertations in linguistics, speech, language, hearing pathology & language research.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index to articles and other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore. Covers subjects from prose to poetry, genres to literary forms, national literatures and regional dialects.
Project Muse
Full text database of 160+ electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Religion Database
Collection of journals covering religious issues and perspectives, including religious news and information, commentary on topics of general interest from the perspective of a particular religion, and formal theological studies.
Social Science Database
Full-text periodicals covering the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1986 to the present.

Journals

Journals A-Z List
Search for a particular journal, magazine or newspaper title in our A-Z list.

Other Resources

Indexes and Abstracts (Paper)

Abstracts in Anthropology (REF GN1 .A15)
Religion Index (REF Z7753 .A52)

Indexes and Abstracts (CD-ROM)

Anthropological Literature (2003) - available in the Reference Dept. on Computer G-2

Microform Collections

Great Britain's "Annual Report on the Colonies" (available on microfiche in the Multimedia Services Dept.)
Human Relations Area Files (more recent files available online, older files are available on microfiche in the Multimedia Services Dept.)