This is the "Find Books" page of the "Broadcasting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |

Broadcasting   Tags: broadcasting  

This guide is designed to help broadcasting students conduct library research
Last Updated: May 20, 2015 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/broadcasting Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Paul Martinez
Contact Info
973-655-3465
Send Email
 

How to Find Books

Check the library’s catalog for books and other library materials. Begin with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that relate to your topic, for example:

  • Television broadcasting
  • Radio broadcasting
  • Mass media
  • Telecommunications technology
 

Call Number Browse

Browse the Shelves for the following call numbers:

HE 7601 - 8688 Telecommunications industry
HE 8689 - 8700.95 Radio and television broadcasting
P 87 - 96 Communication. Mass media
PN 4699 - 5650 Journalism
TK 5101 - 6720 Telecommunications technology
 

Reference Books

The following is a selection of some of the reference books located on the main level of the library:

Cover Art
A dictionary of communication and media studies - Watson, James, 1936-
Call Number: REF P87.5 .W38 1997
ISBN: 0340676353

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Television - Horace Newcomb (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN1992.18 .E53 2004 V.1-4
ISBN: 9781884964268
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Four volume encyclopedia with 1,150 essays on television people, programs, and issues

Cover Art
Gardner's film, video & TV dictionary
Call Number: REF TR847 .G37 2003
ISBN: 1589650069
Provides brief definitions of approximately 4,000 technical and production terms used in the broadcast, motion picture, and video industries

Cover Art
Broadcasting and Cable Year Book 2009 - ProQuest LLC Staff (Editor)
Call Number: REF HE8689 .B793 2008
ISBN: 1600301215
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Includes profiles of thousands of radio and television stations in the United States and Canada.

Cover Art
The Museum of Broadcast Communications encyclopedia of radio - Sterling, Christopher H.
Call Number: REF TK6544 .M84 2004 V.1-3
ISBN: 1579582494
Focusing on American radio broadcasting with a secondary emphasis on radio in English-speaking nations, this encyclopedia includes 670 articles addressing personalities, music genres, regulations, technology, programming and stations, the "golden age" of radio and other topics relating to radio broadcasting throughout its history.

Cover Art
Historical dictionary of old-time radio - Robert C. Reinehr, Jon D. Swartz
Call Number: REF PN1991.3.U6 R45 2008
ISBN: 0810857804
Publication Date: 2008
Following a chronology, historical overview of radio networks and pre-network radio broadcasting, A-Z entries on old-time radio (OTR) range cover its aesthetic, technical, and organizational aspects and its leading personalities.

 

Circulating Books

The following is a selection of circulating books (books you can check out) located on the second level of the Library:

Cover Art
A Broadcast Engineering Tutorial for Non-Engineers - Skip Pizzi; Graham A. Jones
Call Number: TK6561 .P59 2014
ISBN: 9780415733397
Publication Date: 2014-03-27
This book will give you a comprehensive primer of television, radio, and digital media relating to broadcast--it is your guide to understanding the technical world of radio and television broadcast engineering. It covers all the important topics such as DTV, IBOC ('HD Radio'), cable and satellite radio and television, digital audio and video standards, broadcast studio and remote facilities, radio frequency coding and modulation, video servers, editing, electronic newsrooms, surround sound, streaming media, broadcast regulation and more.

Cover Art
On camera : how to report, anchor & interview - Nancy Reardon; Tom Flynn
Call Number: PN4784.T4 R43 2013
ISBN: 9780415831826
Publication Date: 2013
Reardon's book teaches you how to become professional and effective on camera. You ll learn how to appear and feel at ease whether doing an interview, reporting in the field, reading from a prompter, or giving a video presentation.

Cover Art
Broadcasting in the 21st century - Rudin, Richard
Call Number: HE8689.4 .R83 2011
ISBN: 9780230013179
Publication Date: 2011
Beginning with a chronological narrative of the history of broadcasting it goes on to consider key issues in the development of radio, television and the internet, including the impact on audiences and the growth of "broadcasting on demand." Concluding with a discussion of what the future holds for digital broadcasting, this book provides media students with insight into the past, present and future of broadcasting.

Cover Art
Ethics and the media : an introduction - Ward, Stephen J. A. (Stephen John Anthony), 1951-
Call Number: P94 .W37 2011
ISBN: 9780521889643
Publication Date: 2011
This book is a comprehensive introduction to media ethics and an exploration of how it must change to adapt to today's media revolution. Using an ethical framework for the new 'mixed media' ethics – taking in the global, interactive media produced by both citizens and professionals – Stephen J. A. Ward discusses the ethical issues which occur in both mainstream and non-mainstream media.

Cover Art
Radio : essays in bad reception - Mowitt, John
Call Number: PN1991.5 .M69 2011
ISBN: 9780520270497
Publication Date: 2011
In a wide-ranging, cross-cultural, and transhistorical assessment, John Mowitt examines radio's central place in the history of twentieth-century critical theory.

Cover Art
Bad news : how America's business press missed the story of the century - Schiffrin, Anya
Call Number: PN4784.C7 B33 2011
ISBN: 1595585494
Publication Date: 2011
Originating in a conference held in April 2010 at Columbia University, this collection of timely articles explores to what extent the business press did its job reporting on the financial crisis of 2008. Most of them assert that journalists failed to adequately report the extent of the crisis because of conflicts of interests with their sources or a general decline in investigative reporting.

Cover Art
The business of media distribution : monetizing film, TV, and video content - Ulin, Jeff
Call Number: PN1995.9.M29 U45 2010
ISBN: 9780240812007
Publication Date: 2010
Learn how all related media distribution markets, including television, video and online, work together and independently to finance and maximize profits on productions.

Cover Art
Radio's hidden voice : the origins of public broadcasting in the United States - Slotten, Hugh Richard
Call Number: HE8689.8 .S567 2009
ISBN: 9780252034473
Employing extensive research from archives across the United States, Hugh Richard Slotten examines the origins of alternative broadcasting models based especially on a commitment to providing noncommercial service for the public.

Cover Art
Media and communication technologies : a critical introduction - Lax, Stephen
Call Number: P96.T42 L39 2009
ISBN: 9781403998897
Complex technology is now widely available and commonplace, with new developments emerging almost every day. So how are we to keep up with and make sense of the technological changes behind media and communication systems? Do new technologies change society, or are new media the products of social forces?

Cover Art
Head's broadcasting in America : a survey of electronic media - McGregor, Michael A.
Call Number: HE8689.8 .H43 2010
ISBN: 9780205608133
Publication Date: 2010
Head's Broadcasting in America distinguishes itself by presenting electronic media both as products of contemporary social forces and as social forces in their own right. This book will introduce you to the exciting changes taking place in electronic media. It will help you examine the emerging information infrastructure and the accelerating convergence of various electronic media forms.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip