Skip to main content
Banner Image

Sprague Library Archives

College of Science and Mathematics

Inventory to records of the Montclair State University College of Science and Mathematics

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical Note

Scope and Contents

Arrangement

Restrictions

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Box 1, 1926-2012

Inventory to the records of the Montclair State University College of Science and Mathematics



Overview of the Collection

Repository: Montclair State University - Harry A. Sprague Library Archives
Creator: Montclair State University. College of Science and Mathematics
Dates: Circa 1926-2012
Quantity: 1.2 cubic feet
Identification: CSAMNjUpM
Language: The records are in English.

Biographical Note

The College of Science and Mathematics (CSAM) is part of the Division of Academic Affairs. The College offers strong disciplinary and interdisciplinary baccalaureate, certificate, master’s and select doctoral programs reflecting contemporary needs and research foci in sciences and mathematics. In 1970, the thirty-two major departments in Montclair State College were organized into five schools, headed by a dean. This arrangement was modified in 1972 when the College was divided into six schools. In 1995, the Board of Trustees approved changing the name of the School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences to the College Sciences and Mathematics

Departments and Programs:
* Biology and Molecular Biology
* Chemistry and Biochemistry
* Computer Science
* Earth and Environmental Studies
* Mathematical Sciences
* Aquatic and Coastal Sciences
* Science Informatics
* Environmental Management Ph.D.
* Mathematics Education Ed.D.
Centers and Institutes:
* Bristol-Myers Squibb Center
* Center for Environmental Management and Analysis
* Center for Quantitative Obesity Research
* Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Laboratory
* NJ School of Conservation
* Passaic River Institute
* Professional Resources in Sciences and Mathematics
* PSEG Institute for Sustainability Studies
* Red Hawk Math Learning Center
* Remote Sensing Lab
* The Sokol Institute
* Statistical Consulting Program

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents

The Sprague Library Archives is not a formal institutional repository. This series of records contains a small collection of documents collected by the library from the College of Science and Mathematics. The records are largely unrelated and cover a wide range of dates.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement

The records are arranged in one series. The series is divided into three subseries.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

The collection is open for research use.

Restrictions on Use

Copyright restrictions may apply.

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Box 1, 1926-2012
1 Subseries 1: Mathematical Sciences,
1 “How we subtract” by John C. Stone Head of the Department of Mathematics, Montclair State Normal School , 1926
2 Brochure for Montclair State College Summer Institutes for Teachers of Senior High School and Junior High School Mathematics, June 24 to August 2, 1963
3 100 Proof: The Math Department Newsletter Montclair State College, 1971-1973
3 Volume 2 Number 3 , December 1971
3 Volume 2 Number 4 , February 1972
3 Volume 2 Number 5, March 1972
3 Volume 3 Number 4, March 1973
3 Volume 3 Number 5 , April 1973
4 School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences, Office of the Dean, Memorandum – Report of the Advisory Committee on College Outcomes Evaluation , April, 1, 1987
Subseries 2: NJ School of Conservation,
5 Student Paper “Citrus Fruits” by William F. Fox Geog 302 – Economic Geography, May 17, 1948
6 Faculty Guide, College Outdoor Education Program, 1961, 1965
7 Presentations of Dr. John J. Kirk, Director and Professor of Environmental Studies New Jersey School of Conservation, 1982-1996
7 “Teacher Training and Curricular Development in Environmental Education”, 1982
7 “Trends in International Environmental Education” , 1988
7 “The New Jersey School of Conservation: Over Four Decades of Environmental Education”, 1993
7 “History and Recent Trends: The Organized Camping Movement in the United States” , 1996
7 “Environmental Education in the United States: A Brief History” , 1996
8 School of Conservation News, 1997
8 Volume XXVII No. 2 , Spring – Summer 1997
9 Packet for the 50th Year Anniversary Weekend of the New Jersey School of Conservation, June 4-6, 1999
10 Flyers for Internships, Workshops, and Clinics , 1998 – 1999
11 “The New Jersey School of Conservation from 1949 to 1999: Fifty Years of Educational Services to Nature and Society” by Annette Sambolin, 2005
12 Booklet: Fourth Annual Student Research Symposium, April 23, 2010
Subseries 3: Miscellaneous,
13 CSAM Insights: The Research Chronicle of the College of Science and Mathematics, 2012
13 Volume 1, Number 1, Fall 2012
Carved stone (used in the preparation of calligraphy ink) enclosed in an decorative box – Gift from the delegation from Anhui Province, China to Dean Prezant and Dr. Weinstein, December, 2011
Friend, follow and subscribe to Sprague library!