Research Guides: Mobile Apps & Websites: Popular Apps

Popular Apps, Mobile Websites & Tools

Just getting started with your new tablet or smart phone and wondering what to download? Here are links to popular apps, mobile websites & tools to get you going:

Application	Description
	With the Adobe Reader app, users can easily read and share PDF documents. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. For Android owners, the Adobe Reader may be downloaded for FREE from Android Market.
	The AccessMyLibrary is a FREE app developed by Gale that is part of the Cengage Learning Web site. The app is optimized for use with the iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad, as well as Android devices. The app uses your phone's built-in GPS to locate nearby public libraries. From results retrieved with the app, users can search any given public library's Gale online resources. A library card is not needed to perform searches from your device. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from the Android Market for Android devices.
	Bing mobile apps are FREE and available for iPhone and iPod Touch, Windows Phone, Blackberry, and Sidekick devices. Owners of other devices may access Bing by pointing their device's browsers to the Bing mobile website at http://m.bing.com.
	Free version of Encyclopedia Britannica in mobile-friendly web format.
	Calibre is an open source eBook management tool. Converts files, synchs files with devices, and more.
	Dictionary and Thesaurus is a FREE mobile dictionary and thesaurus app that is available for download in the iTunes App Store, Android Market, and Blackberry App World. The app includes nearly 1,000,000 words and definitions and 90,000 synonyms and antonyms. No Internet connection is needed. The app also features audio pronunciations, similarly spelled words and Dictionary.com’s popular Word of the Day.
	Dragon Dictation is an easy-to-use voice recognition app that allows you to dictate messages using your device. The app may also be used to update your status on social networks such as Facebook and Twitter. The app is currently FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store for iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad devices, and from Blackberry App World for Blackberry devices.
	Dropbox is a great productivity app, which serves as a cloud-based, shareable virtual file system. The app is FREE and allows you to view documents, spreadsheets, presentations, videos, and photos, export files to other iPhone, iPad, or Android apps, and more. The app requires a Dropbox account to function, but if you do not have an account, the app will allow you to create one for free. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and iPad devices, and from Android Market for use on Android devices.
	Easybib is a FREE app that allows you to scan any book’s barcode or manually type in the title to create MLA, APA, and Chicago style citations instantly. EasyBib also lets you manage your works cited and email citations to yourself. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and iPad devices.
	Endnote This new app utilizes sync capabilities, enabling EndNote X6 users to easily view, edit, organize and share their research materials from their iPad. The app is available for download for $9.99 in the iTunes App Store.
	Evernote is an award-winning app that lets you jot down notes, snapshots, and recordings, on everything from lectures, meetings, and business cards. Notes and reminders are easily searchable on the device or your desktop when the device is synchronized to the desktop. The app supports most devices and is available for download for FREE in Blackberry App World, the iTunes App Store, or Android Market.
	Firefox Home is Mozilla's official Firefox app for the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad. The app provides Apple mobile users with access to their Firefox history, bookmarks, and open tabs as stored on your desktop computer. The app is FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store. To operate on your device, you will also need to download the Firefox Sync add-on.
	The Free Wi-Fi Finder app is just what its name implies: a free wi-fi finder for mobile devices. Drawing from a database of more than 100,000 wi-fi hotspots worldwide, the app allows you to search and map nearby, free wi-fi hotspots, either using location features or manual search. The app also allows you to store favorite wi-fi locations for future reference, or to share them via Twitter or Facebook. Search results for wi-fi locations are displayed on an easy-to-read map with locations flagged. The Free Wi-Fi Finder app is FREE and is compatible with Android devices, as well as iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad devices. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for Apple devices and from Android Market for Android devices.
	Go Sky Watch is a FREE science app available from iTunes. Use it to locate stars and constellations.
	Google Mobile App is a great tool that allows you to search Google quickly using voice commands. The app is FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store. The app is compatible with the iPhone, iPod Touch, and the iPad. For a list of Google apps available for Android devices, please see the list available at AndroidZoom.
	The Internet Movie Database (IMDB) App allows you to access info about over 2 million movie and TV titles, as well as over 4 million celebrities, actors, actresses, directors and crew members with this stunning FREE iPad app. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and iPad devices.
	Medline Plus Mobile provides trusted health information in a mobile format from the National Library of Medicine and the National Insitutes of Health.
	The Meebo app supports most major instant-messaging networks, such as AOL/AIM, Yahoo!, Windows Live Messenger, Gmail/Google Talk, Facebook, and many others. The app can push notifications when the app is closed, provides searchable chat histories, and has most of the great features associated with the web-based tool. iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad users may download the app for FREE from the iTunes App Store; Blackberry users may download the app for FREE from the Meebo website; and Android users may download the app for FREE from the Android Market or the Meebo website. Owners of other smartphones may use Meebo for Mobile Web.
	The My Congress App is FREE for the iPad. It provides quick and easy access to info about all members of the House and Senate, including brief bio, website, contact info, news about the person, their YouTube channel, and Twitter feed. Available in the iTunes App Store.
	The OverDrive Media Console app is an audiobook app that provides access to MP3 audiobooks from more than 10,000 public library websites. The app allows you to "check out" audiobooks from public libraries and to listen to the books on your device. MP3 files checked out using the app automatically expire in the app, so you don't need to worry about late fees! The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad, or from Android Market for use on Android devices.
	Science Glossary is an extensive FREE library of scientific terms. Available from the iTunes App Store.
	The Skype app lets you call and instant message anyone else on Skype for free, and call landlines, mobiles, and send SMS anywhere in the world at great rates. The app is FREE and requires a WiFi connection. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store, Android Market, or from the Skype website for other devices using Verizon Wireless.
	Stanza is an eBook App that has books for purchase but also has over 50,000 free titles from places like project Gutenburg. You can also import ebooks inPDF, ePub, or various other formats. For use with iPads and iPhone; It gives you a few more options for customization than iBooks does
	The TED app allows you to access over 900 TEDTalk videos from some of the world’s most fascinating people: education radicals, tech geniuses, medical mavericks, business gurus and music legends. Bookmark or download your favorite TEDTalk for playback anywhere. The app may be downloaded FREE from the iTunes App Store,
	The White & Yellow Pages app, of course, is the popular directories in mobile app form. You can obtain phone numbers, driving directions, websites, and business information with easy navigation features. The app automatically locates where you are and ranks search results in the order of promixity to your location. The app is FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store or from Android Market. Similar apps for the White Pages and the Yellow Pages are available in Blackberry App World as well.