Research Guides: Jewish Studies: Find Articles

Welcome to the Jewish Studies Research Guide

This guide covers the entire range of subjects that constitute Jewish Studies including Anti-Semitism, Archaelogy (Israel), Israel, Jewish History, the Holocaust, Jewish Art, Judaism, and Zionism. In addition, the guide provides access to all types of library resources whether they be books, journal articles (from databases or electronic journals), internet sites, and multimedia resources (streaming video and audio, etc). Hopefully, this guide will direct you to the most useful resources available in the library or on the Internet.

Current Scholarship in Jewish Studies

Other Resources

Indexes and Abstracts (Paper)

Religion Index (REF Z7753 .A52)

Microform Collections

Memoirs of American Jews, 1775-1865 (available on microfiche in the Multimedia Services Dept.)
Human Relations Area Files (more recent files available online, older files are available on microfiche in the Multimedia Services Dept.

Databases arranged by Topic

RAMBI
A selective bibliography of articles in the fields of Jewish and Israel Studies. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages - mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library in Israel.
Academic Search Complete
Index to articles of general academic interest. Some full text.
Dissertations & Theses Global
International doctoral dissertations & master's theses. Full text since 1997, with some full text prior to 1997.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering many subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports & videos.

Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of international peer-selected publications including Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
JSTOR
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
L'Annee Philologique
Scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. These range from studies in art & archaeology to history, literature, linguistics, religion and philosophy.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Theory and research in international affairs from 1991 onward. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Also contains country profiles.

Art Full Text
Full text plus abstracts and indexing of international peer-selected publications including Latin American, Canadian, Asian and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Abstracts of articles related to the history of art. Coverage is from 1990 to 2007. Also includes Répertoire de la litterature de l'art from 1975 to 1989.
Oxford Art Online
Access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links & images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as access to entries & images from the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and Oxford's Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

America History & Life
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and dissertations on US and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Some full text.
Historical Abstracts
Abstracts of journal articles, citations to books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present.

Index to Yiddish Periodicals
A bibliographical database using Yiddish, which aims to record the materials published in the Yiddish press in Eastern Europe, from its beginnings (1862) until 1939 (in the Soviet Union: until 1948).

Literary Reference Center
Comprehensive literary reference database, providing a broad range of information from antiquity to the present day. Full text.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Index to articles & other material on modern languages, literature, linguistics & folklore.
It contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Literature Resource Center
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism & reviews on 130,000+ writers in all disciplines, from all time periods & from around the world.

BMS Online
Provides citations of works from 1986 to the present. Includes monographs, journal articles, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies, critical reports and interdisciplinary writings as well as reviews and other materials. Some full text.
Music Periodicals Database
Indexing and abstracts for international music periodicals from over 20 countries. Some full text. Indexing Coverage: 1874 - current
Grove Music Online
Information on music history, cultures of music & musicians from around the globe.
60,000+ articles written by over 6,000 music scholars

Philosopher's Index
Index & abstracts of scholarly research in philosophy published in books and journals since 1940. Some full text.
Religion Database
Journals covering religious issues and perspectives.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Full text journals covering topics such as world religions, biblical studies, religious history, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy & the history of philosophy.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Indexing and abstracts for publications related to film and television. Some full text.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Index of journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Some full text.

JSTOR
Collection of multidisciplinary academic journals, books and primary sources. Recent issues not always available. Full text.
Project Muse
Full text database of 160+ electronic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Social Science Database
Full-text periodicals covering the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts
Index to publications in the fields of sociology, social sciences and related disciplines from 1986 to the present.

Journals

Journals A-Z List
Search for a particular journal, magazine or newspaper title in our A-Z list.