Locate Current NJ News
- Star-Ledger - Daily, covers Essex County, NJ, U.S. and some international news. Paper issues located in the Periodicals Department. You can also see an online version of the Star-Ledger but is not as detailed as the print version.
- New Jersey News 12 - Free site with up-to-date New Jersey news.
- NJBiz - Weekly, covers NJ business news. Paper issues located in the Periodicals Department. Click here for the electronic version.
- Montclair Times - Weekly, covers the town of Montclair. Current paper issues located in the Periodicals Department. Archival issues from 1972-2000 are available on microfilm and housed in the Multimedia Resources Department. Montclair Public Library includes the Montclair Times from 1877 to date. Please call before you go.
- Montclarion - Montclair State University student newspapers published during academic year. Print issues located in the Periodicals Department. Click here for digital version.
Links to New Jersey newspapers from the following free web sites:
Identify Historical/Archival NJ Newspapers
Selective list of newspapers available on microfilm and housed in the MultimediaResources Department, lower level:
- Star-Ledger (Newark) - Archival issues from 1959-2009 are availble on microfilm and housed in the Multimedia Resources Department.
- Montclair Times - Archival issues from 1972-2000 are available on microfilm and housed in the Multimedia Resources Department. Montclair Public Library has the Montclair Times on microfilm from September 1872 to the present and on CD-ROM from 2000 to date.
- North Jersey Herald & News (covering the Clifton NJ area) - Microfilm reels can be located in the Multimedia Resources Department. Years available: 1974-2001.
Close to 600 New Jersey newspapers on microfilm are available for purchase from the State Archives. All counties are represented.
Links to electronic archival collections covering New Jersey:
- Historical Newspapers Online - Lists historical newspapers, by State and available to the public. Created by the University of Pennsylvania Library. Our State is well represented.
- Montclarion Archives - Full-text searchable online archive of The Montclarion Student Newspaper at Montclair State University. Currently, the archive includes The Montclarion newspaper issues from the 60s, 70s and 1993-1996. The Library also has microfilm back runs of the Montclarion from 1962-2002.