This is the "Home - Find Books" page of the "Music " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Sprague Library
Library Home | Articles & Databases | Books & Media | Guides & Resources | Services |
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015 URL: http://montclair.libguides.com/IntroMusic Print Guide RSS Updates

Home - Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to Find Info on Music @ Sprague

Check the library’s catalog to find books and other library materials pertaining to your topic. Begin with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that relate to your topic, for example:

  • Music
  • Music History
  • Music [place name], for example, Music Africa
  • Musicians
  • Composers'/musicians' names, for example, Beethoven
  • Specific types of music, for example,
  • Jazz
  • Masses
  • Operas
  • Symphonies
  • Specific musical instruments, for example,
  • Flute
  • Piano
  • Violon
      

    Databases

    Locate information in online encyclopedias & dictionaries of music as well as online scores & streaming audio:

     

    WorldCat Local Everthing Search Box

    Local Search Box Iframe

     

    Reference Materials

    Baker's student encyclopedia of music
    Call Number: Ref ML100 .B26 1999
    ISBN: 0028653157

    Cover Art
    The Harvard dictionary of music. 4th ed.
    Call Number: REF ML100 .H37 2003
    ISBN: 0674011635
    Essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.

    Cover Art
    The international thesaurus of musical terms - Grudzinski, Ted.
    Call Number: REF ML108 .G78 2006
    ISBN: 0976387735
    Contains synonyms & other related terms in English, Italian, French, German, Spanish, Latin and Greek with special attention to historical and liturgical terms.

    Cover Art
    The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians. 2d ed.
    Call Number: Ref ML100 .N48 2001
    ISBN: 1561592390
    THE resource on music.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford dictionary of music. 2d ed., revised. - Kennedy, Michael.
    Call Number: REF ML100 .K35 2006
    ISBN: 0198614594

    Cover Art
    The Penguin companion to classical music - Griffiths, Paul
    Call Number: ML100 .G84 2005
    ISBN: 0140515593
    A millennium of Western music in one authoritative, A-to-Z guide.

    Liaison

    Profile Image
    Kathleen Hughes
    Contact Info
    Harry A. Sprague Library
    Cataloging Dept.
    973-655-7077
    Send Email
    Subjects:
    Music, Theatre, Dance

    How to Cite

    Handouts from Sprague Library, links to Purdue University's Online Writing Lab, and more.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip