How to Find Books @ Sprague
Check the library’s catalog for books and other library materials. Begin with some basic keyword searches, combining a few terms that relate to your topic, for example:
Dance
Dance History
Dancing
Choreography
Specific types of dance, for example,
Ballet
Movement notation
Reference Materials
International encyclopedia of dance : a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc
Call Number: REF GV1585 .I586 1998
"This set takes a place among the great subject encyclopedias as the first work to consult for authoritative information on a discipline. The coverage is truly international, and although the editors do not claim to have been exhaustive, the encyclopedia includes historical surveys, analytical essays, theories, methodologies, personalities, music, costume, scene design, film, companies, and much more." -- CHOICE review
The queer encyclopedia of music, dance, & musical theater
Call Number: ML100 .Q44 2004
Aficionados of music, dance, opera, and musical theater will relish this volume featuring over 200 articles showcasing composers, singers, musicians, dancers, and choreographers across eras and styles.- The Gail Grant dictionary of classical ballet in labanotation - Miles, Allan
Call Number: GV1787 .M54
The Oxford dictionary of dance - Craine, Debra.
Call Number: REF GV1585 .C73 2000
Dance words - Preston-Dunlop, Valerie Monthland.
Call Number: REF GV1585 .P74 1995
"Because the entries often describe rather than define concepts and may be subjective, this is an incomparable, artistic glossary more than a dictionary. For all students of dance." -- CHOICE review
The Grey House performing arts directory
Call Number: REF PN1561 .G74 2003
Theatre sources dot com : a complete guide to online theatre and dance resources - Catron, Louis E.
Call Number: REF PN2052 .C38 2001
A compilation of over 750 web sites with summaries and comments on Web material as well as definitions and discussion of common theatre terms.
Biography
Dance ink : photographs - Miller, J. Abbott.
Call Number: GV1785.A1 D285 1997
A celebration of contemporary dance, featuring the best work from the award-winning magazine DANCE INK (1990-96). Includes many new and previously unpublished photographs. Essays on five renowned choreographers offer insight into the distinctive style and personality of each artist.- Fonteyn and Nureyev : the story of a partnership - Bland, Alexander.
Call Number: GV1785.A1 B57 1979
Liaison to the Theatre & Dance |
Kathleen HughesContact Info:
Harry A. Sprague Library
Cataloging Dept.
973-655-7077
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Theatre, Dance
Harry A. Sprague Library
Cataloging Dept.
973-655-7077
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Theatre, Dance
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait